Dynamic Keyframes

DaVinci Resolve has two types of keyframes when programming colour (doesn’t apply to motion): ‘Static’ and ‘Dynamic’. Static frames will change at that set point whereas dynamic change over a period of time between the last dynamic keyframe and the next. I opted to use some of the test footage I shot last week in which I change the Kinoflo Diva-lite from 2 bulb power to 4 bulb, this occurs instantly over the course of three frames. Seeing as there was a slight delay by 1 frame it meant inserting a dynamic keyframe was the better option otherwise there would be one frame dropped in which the colour reverts between the change. An important note to remember, if you are mixing the two types of keyframes an add a dynamic to the right of a static no interpolation will occur.

The easiest method I found to creating keyframes is to use the ‘Start Dynamic’ button on the left of the desk, this automatically adds a dynamic keyframe as you playback the clip, the more you press it the more keyframes you add. As I was dealing with three frames I used the frame jump buttons on the right of the desk to make scanning quicker and ensure I was editing the right frame.

Once I had made my nodes on the original lighting condition I then started to edit each node individually on the second lighting condition and best replicate the videoscopes. The concept of key framing in DaVinci was not difficult, the issue I found was matching the light precisely. As the shot didn’t move the light had to be identical, in the time I spend grading I couldn’t fully successfully replicate the light but am extremely happy with how close I got to the original. At the end of the day this scenario will never happen, lighting would only change between shots, if the light suddenly jumped it would be purposeful.

I think my second version worked much more effectively, the change in light is barely noticeable. There is a minute change in the red levels, this could potentially be fully removed with further adjustment. None the less I am pleased with this work and think it has helped continue growing my confidence with the grading panels. The next step forward for keying will be looking into tracking objects rather than relying upon the automatic object tracking tool.

 

Leave a Reply

