Location Scout – Crofters Rights

Crofters Rights is a pub/bar space in Stokes Croft with a large function room available for hire which often holds live performances from bands and DJs. Beth had contacted me to come along on the location recce as this was the suggested venue for the DJ performance.

22526115

I think I speak for all of us when this venue was nothing as it was advertised. I came on the recce to assess the lighting rig, so I know what I would be working with. The lighting rig here was almost not existent, only two lights worked – one pink lamp facing a side wall, and one moving mirror facing the back of the room – nothing actually faced the stage. The idea for this venue was live dynamic lighting and if anything it is more difficult to pull off than the TV studio during the live show.

I suggested some other venues to explore, but I believe we will not be using this anymore, lighting was just one problem amongst many. Other potential venues include The Exchange, The Big Chill, and Thekla.

10847307_10152671716297408_4258301357059079692_o

 

Leave a Reply

